The Horse Whisperer-Part 1

It was getting late and my wound was throbbing. The Sun was still up in the sky. And it seemed like it wasn’t going anywhere any time soon. The water fall was supposed to be close by but I’m not so sure how far. And I hoped to end this day by lazing in a pool created by the cascading water. So I strode the bike once more and with a flick of my left hand had secured my helmet. I still couldn’t lift my right arm beyond my shoulder. Though the throbbing pain had ceased. I did one last check to ensure all my belongings were intact. I’ve been doing this all day as If these things were the only possession I owned. My conscious had been troubled for a while and I haven’t been able to shake off this weird vibe. This was the partial cause of the accident earlier. Talk about tragic consequences. I set off once I  ensured that I still had my wallet, phone and camera. The Camera would be useless till I have fix fixed. It had been on quiet a few journey and I hope this wouldn’t be it’s last.

 The Bike started without much coercing though how the bloody thing still works after the fall is still a mystery. It was surely lucky but I couldn’t say the same about my elbow. I could saved myself the pain and the trouble if I had just tucked in both arms when I fell. Or better yet, meditate to put my mind at ease before I left. Was it a good Idea for me to keep driving around? I drove off the parking lot and on to the road. The Path on my Right would lead me back to my hostel while the one on my left would take me to my supposedly final destination. As If on instinct I took the path less traveled. I didn’t know how far I had to drive. But as I kept riding, I found rows and rows of fences. So this was the ranch I sighted from the cable car on my way to the Top. As I drove pas the front gate, I braked to a screeching halt. Should I go in? I’ve never been to one of these places. Well since I am already out of my comfort parameter, why shouldn’t I? So I drove in and stopped in front of a barn

20141203_174511

I took my helmet off and got a full brunt of the mixture of manure and hay. There seemed to be an engine running somewhere along with the galloping of a horse or horses. I could sense these equestrian mammals and I am sure they could feel me out too. Neighing and huffing greeted me as I entered the barn. The barn was huge and contained numerous stables. How funny it is to go in search of a water fall and find these beautiful majestic creatures.

20141203_173630

The horses were padlocked in their stables and I was alone with them. No one came out to greet me. I guess they weren’t curious about visitors. I could have just stood there feeling out these 4 legged souls but I felt I was trespassing. So I went in search of the caretakers. I guess I wasn’t the only one who was nervous as I saw a restless stallion who was as black as the night. He was pacing his stable behind the gate.

20141203_174859

I stopped at a poster which heralded the feats of the owner’s son. There were a couple of trophies and photos of him taken at International events. “Impressive”, It seems these training grounds have produced a star. There were other trophies, medals and newspaper cuttings of the achievements of various people associated to this ranch. This Ranch enjoys a good patronage and the Ex Prime Minster of Malaysia owns the first foal to have been breed in these stables.

.There was an open door leading to an office. So I walked in hopes of finding a receptionist. I wasn’t the only one waiting to talk to someone. When the help finally showed up and had attended with the couple who were before me, she attended my questions on the riding rates. Not only was she a Veterinarian graduate but also an intern at the stables due to her love of horses. I was a bit late to be able to ride one so I settled on exploring this magical territory. There were an ample number of cats lazing about. I guess they were used to the humans and the horses. I rubbed one right between the ears and he purred as if I ran a massage parlor.

20141203_171114

A full scale skeleton remains of what I assume to be a horse stood right outside the office. There were two of them on either side. This was meant to be an honor given to the favored horses who have passed on for greener pastures. It was nice gesture and I was glad they didn’t make jewelry from the bones.

20141203_171517

I heard growling and I knew there were dogs about. In fact there were two of them locked behind a fence on my right. They didn’t look happy so I walked towards the ponies on my left.  Though the ponies were of equal size to the dogs, they seemed more welcoming. I didn’t know if I could pat them but I didn’t wish to disturb them either. I didn’t think they would have minded cause the grass seemed far more interesting.

20141203_171203

By now the dogs had visitors. But they weren’t fond of one of the girls. So I guess the other one was either a friend or a family member. I went up to greet her and Inquired how she was able to stand so close to the fence. She either had nerves of steel or must have been wearing an Iron woman suit inside her normal clothes. “We have an agreement” she said ” I ignore them and they ignore me”. I laughed at her humor but they dogs did know her. One of them belonged to her dad and another to her brother. It was he I found posters out at front. As I stood there looking on, I asked if she could show me around. “Let’s go” she said and we all went in search of horses.

Leave a comment